September 25, 2017, 05:02:36 AM*

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: I bet you knew this was coming?  (Read 3931 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Flash
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13149



« on: October 27, 2016, 04:51:43 PM »

  Cool



* ll1.png (648.54 KB, 3840x2400 - viewed 74 times.)

* ll2.png (490.05 KB, 3840x2400 - viewed 72 times.)
Logged

Coding for the love of it!
spacefractal
RBP Team Member
Blue Gene Super Computer
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4089



WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2016, 10:15:32 AM »

Plans to do all levels? of course, sooner or later. Im do thinks Unity supports XM files, so you can just use those for the levels as used in the original DS game.
Logged

The Musician for the RetroBytes Portal Projects.
Flash
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13149



« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2016, 01:26:17 PM »

The ones in the original MMLL source will not import sadly.
Logged

Coding for the love of it!
spacefractal
RBP Team Member
Blue Gene Super Computer
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4089



WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2016, 07:49:39 AM »

https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/AudioFiles.html

Unity should support XM format. Im do not know its require a full license throught.

You should use those from the OST, because most samples here is 16bit, unlike the original DS game.

You can use you like, xm or the mp3 files to support those levels, if you want.
Logged

The Musician for the RetroBytes Portal Projects.
Flash
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13149



« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2016, 08:18:01 AM »

Can you put all the xm and MP3 in an archive so I can grab them all at once.

I have a full licence. Unity just says there is an error in the xm. I wonder if we did anything different with the files in the original source?
Logged

Coding for the love of it!
spacefractal
RBP Team Member
Blue Gene Super Computer
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4089



WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2016, 06:38:35 AM »

here is it:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/s3woxcfekf1fzw1/Manic%20Miner%20-%20The%20Lost%20Levels.zip?dl=0

Here is all Manic Miner sids tunes:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ppkokt6k9i16tm8/ManicMinerSids.zip?dl=0

There is a another Spectrum extended tune, im still not have uploaded to my site yet. Im thinks its a fun take on the original beeper tune.
« Last Edit: October 30, 2016, 06:43:59 AM by spacefractal » Logged

The Musician for the RetroBytes Portal Projects.
Flash
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13149



« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2016, 03:56:54 PM »

Thanks mate. The XM files work a treat.
Logged

Coding for the love of it!
Flash
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13149



« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2016, 05:09:03 PM »

Ps. Happy Halloween!



* Halloween.png (159.56 KB, 2698x1515 - viewed 71 times.)
Logged

Coding for the love of it!
Flash
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13149



« Reply #8 on: November 02, 2016, 04:09:14 PM »

Meant to post this yesterday, but forgot.

Enjoy Wink

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aPmLSqZcdno" target="_blank">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aPmLSqZcdno</a>
Logged

Coding for the love of it!
headkaze
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7800



« Reply #9 on: November 02, 2016, 06:03:31 PM »

Nice work Flash. All it needs now is the Circular Fade In/Fade Out effect like the DS version.
« Last Edit: November 02, 2016, 06:03:54 PM by headkaze » Logged
Flash
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13149



« Reply #10 on: November 02, 2016, 07:56:34 PM »

At the moment I have not done any transitions. I will though when everything else it done. I used a circle effect in stigma so I could just take that. But. Yeah. Totally agree it needs some finesse in transitions.

Thanks for the kind words mate. Smiley
Logged

Coding for the love of it!
Flash
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13149



« Reply #11 on: November 03, 2016, 05:27:45 PM »

Knocked up a quick status for DS. Its simple but will do for now.



* ds.png (682.87 KB, 3840x2400 - viewed 81 times.)
Logged

Coding for the love of it!
spacefractal
RBP Team Member
Blue Gene Super Computer
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4089



WWW
« Reply #12 on: November 03, 2016, 07:44:13 PM »

the jump sound is little quite annoying and harsh (im do like the lemmings "oh no". Im should do a new jump sound, or soft that one a bit down. eventuelly with AY chip (mightbeen in sid too). The original DS game did do just used the spectrum original, which do have its very own charm and did newer distrub at all (yes really).

Nice to se a another Manic Miner "Remake" and fun idea to bring the Lost Level to Unity that way.

Im thinks, if we add the story, its could been done as a scroller in the level titel line (which will scroll, if its have a too big a titel name).

PS. Nice to see the Terminator level, which one of the two im designed. Its could been fun if Lobo could do some general backgrounds, not stricks to one level (but here its of course ok to use, but its more if Lobo want or not).
« Last Edit: November 03, 2016, 07:48:06 PM by spacefractal » Logged

The Musician for the RetroBytes Portal Projects.
Flash
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13149



« Reply #13 on: November 03, 2016, 07:55:18 PM »

Yep. The jump sound is really annoying. I will change it at some point.  The DS version did not use the original sounds, they were programatically generated. It's just a lot harder in unity to get the same effect.

Yes. That level is a great one. There are other levels in there but I have just not post pictures as yet.
Logged

Coding for the love of it!
Flash
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13149



« Reply #14 on: November 03, 2016, 07:55:59 PM »

Ps. I am mentioned in the latest retro gamer again. Woot.
Logged

Coding for the love of it!
headkaze
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7800



« Reply #15 on: November 03, 2016, 08:25:38 PM »

The DS version did not use the original sounds, they were programatically generated.

The DS version actually uses a sample from the original. The sound changes based on the jump size by modifying the playback frequency. Check out playJump/playFall in audio.s. The sample is called jump.raw. I can't find the original sample though?

I never was happy with the sound of the jump.

PS If the sound is using the AY chip there are emulation libraries out there. Check out LibAYEmu (written in C#)
« Last Edit: November 03, 2016, 08:30:10 PM by headkaze » Logged
Flash
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13149



« Reply #16 on: November 03, 2016, 08:32:18 PM »

Thanks for reminding me. I remember the code changing the pitch and such. It's a long time ago. Over 7 years.

Wow.
Logged

Coding for the love of it!
headkaze
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7800



« Reply #17 on: November 03, 2016, 08:39:16 PM »

Thanks for reminding me. I remember the code changing the pitch and such. It's a long time ago. Over 7 years.  

Yeah it was one of the few things I worked on for MM (apart from all my re-used code from WarhawkDS). From memory I fixed a few bugs you had trouble with too. I believe I was writing DetectiveDS while you were writing MMLL. I also went back from ARM ASM to C++ for that project!

Did you see the part I added to my post about the AY chip? If you want to get the sound really accurate in the Unity version I'd take a look at that library.
« Last Edit: November 03, 2016, 08:40:16 PM by headkaze » Logged
Flash
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13149



« Reply #18 on: November 04, 2016, 02:55:06 PM »

It was handy nicking all the wrap code that enabled me to code directly in ASM like in Warhawk. Though, I do remember you saying when I started MMLL that I would be better coding in C than ASM. And in many respects - you were right there.

I was thinking about the Circle Fade (that you wrote for the DS) and implementing it in MM. I have a full screen shader that does the same effect, but really need it just for the play area? Perhaps I can fake it with a circle cutout mask?
Logged

Coding for the love of it!
Flash
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13149



« Reply #19 on: November 04, 2016, 08:09:02 PM »

ps. cheated for now with the jump sound and replaced it with a sample. Actually works pretty well, for now at least...
Logged

Coding for the love of it!
headkaze
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7800



« Reply #20 on: November 04, 2016, 08:14:46 PM »

When you say you want the Circle Fade only for the play area what do you want to exclude? The UI? Surely Unity's full screen shaders don't effect the UI layer?

As you mention you could also use a texture mask.

You could even be slightly more rudimentary and not use shaders at all. You basically render a black texture with a circle cut out and have black textures around the edges. This is how I did it in Jungool. You can check out the textures I used for the effect on Dropbox (jungool shares/Textures/png_transitions_hd/hd_transition_circle2.png). Since it uses simple geometry it's also faster than using a shader which was important when we were developing Jungool on early iPhone's (Jungool ran at 30 FPS on an iPhone 3GS!).
« Last Edit: November 04, 2016, 08:16:04 PM by headkaze » Logged
Flash
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13149



« Reply #21 on: November 04, 2016, 08:24:21 PM »

for all transitions I really want to do them in the play area itself. UI elements are never present during play (and these present another problem - so just as well). When I add transitions, I want to just transition the play view. This is already calculated as a rect regardless of the actual screen size or status area (and used by the screenshot function). So, as you rightly say....

Either mask it with a cutout mask, of do it like in Jungool (though this also needs masking as the area is not full screen).

Or, perhaps a full screen version is fine (as a shader is easier to produce).

All this stuff will come later though, I haven't even made the UI (for the editor mostly) resolution independent lol. My main efforts were perfect emulation of the game along with resolution independence on the presentation of game play. Happily that appears fine.

When I get onto transitions and the finer details, is it ok to give your brain a good hammering for advice?
Logged

Coding for the love of it!
headkaze
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7800



« Reply #22 on: November 04, 2016, 08:59:51 PM »

When I get onto transitions and the finer details, is it ok to give your brain a good hammering for advice?

Of course mate!

Well I do hope you give that AY emulation library a try as well as I think it could be useful for other things later on down the road...
Logged
Flash
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13149



« Reply #23 on: November 04, 2016, 09:08:21 PM »

I agree.

Ps. Thanks blossom.
Logged

Coding for the love of it!
spacefractal
RBP Team Member
Blue Gene Super Computer
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4089



WWW
« Reply #24 on: November 07, 2016, 03:28:24 PM »

eventuelly using a 2048x2048 alpha texture and then zoom in? The texture might not cover the whole screen when zoomed, then rest of the edges could been draw by either another black texture, or draw it with 2d.

This is something im would do in glbasic. On mobile version, the texture might require resize to 1024x1024.

Yes its a nice effect on the DS game. But its not 100% required as a level maker game.
Logged

The Musician for the RetroBytes Portal Projects.
Flash
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13149



« Reply #25 on: November 07, 2016, 03:45:23 PM »

Its something I will play with later down the line. It certainly would add some extra polish.
Logged

Coding for the love of it!
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to: