February 20, 2017, 04:47:22 PM*

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: In-game music does not work on M3  (Read 7758 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
a128
ZX80
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


WWW
« on: January 06, 2010, 08:25:59 AM »

for whatever reasons the in-game music does not play....options for that feature is activated?! otherwise sweet game....sprites a little bit tiny but I guess the resolution fits the retro theme. Thx for sharing!!!!
Logged
Flash
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 12299



« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2010, 08:53:25 AM »

Are you using the FAT or EFS version.

The EFS version should work fine on the M3 cards.

If you are using the FAT version, have you copied the Data folder to the root of your card, this contains the music.
Logged

Coding for the love of it!
a128
ZX80
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2010, 07:35:00 PM »

I use EFS version have to check the FAT version on M3 ..I report back .....
Logged
a128
ZX80
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2010, 07:51:43 PM »

EFS and FAT no in-game music using M3Real card for whatever reason......they does not load I guess
Logged
headkaze
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7735



« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2010, 07:53:26 PM »

Have you downloaded the latest version of MMLL? It should be v1.05
Logged
spacefractal
RBP Team Member
Blue Gene Super Computer
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3453



WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2010, 08:04:15 PM »

which bios do you actelly use? in TDC with AceCard there was no music with the unofficiel bios, but there was music in the officiel.... Sometimes it could go the other way.
Logged

The Musician for the RetroBytes Portal Projects.
a128
ZX80
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


WWW
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2010, 08:15:10 PM »

Have you downloaded the latest version of MMLL? It should be v1.05

sure!

I tested it no on DSi with itouch2 3.7 EFS does not work....what kind of nitroFS/EFS init scheme you use?

The FAT works with music! but only on itoch2 on DSi...for wahtever reasons FAT does not work on m3 with latest 4.7c firmware...which I find strange...i never discovered problems with notroFS/EFS on m3 cards
Logged
a128
ZX80
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


WWW
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2010, 08:15:51 PM »

which bios do you actelly use? in TDC with AceCard there was no music with the unofficiel bios, but there was music in the officiel.... Sometimes it could go the other way.

official 4.7c g6 firmware ..also the latest sakura does not work
Logged
a128
ZX80
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


WWW
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2010, 08:21:33 PM »



The EFS version should work fine on the M3 cards.



Warhawk EFS works on m3 cards....did you changed the init scheme for manicMinerLL ?!
Logged
Flash
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 12299



« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2010, 08:26:16 PM »

No it is much the same?

I have an M3Simply card and it works fine on that? I can't tell you what firmware revision as it is at work.

So, this is a bit confusing at the moment. But.. Thanks for pointing it out as it is worth looking at.

I cannot think of anything that will help you now though.
Logged

Coding for the love of it!
spacefractal
RBP Team Member
Blue Gene Super Computer
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3453



WWW
« Reply #10 on: January 06, 2010, 08:29:48 PM »

Warhawk use streamed music (Wav ADPCM mono), Manic Miner use 8bit XM music.

Its kinda look like a firmware bug, since its works with itoch2? You might even have a clone?

Logged

The Musician for the RetroBytes Portal Projects.
a128
ZX80
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


WWW
« Reply #11 on: January 06, 2010, 08:31:09 PM »

tested ManicMiner EFS version with the Homebrew Menu loader tool from devkitPro (which feeds argv with the file path of the running file)..now the EFS version runs on itouch2 but the in game gfx are not there ?!.....

maybe most of the card problems would be solved if you guys use a loading scheme where the EFS version works with a constant FILENAME and does not search the card for the file...use nitroFS which seems to work fine on most cards.?!
Logged
headkaze
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7735



« Reply #12 on: January 06, 2010, 09:13:56 PM »

Just tried MMLL and Warhawk EFS versions on my M3 Lite and sound works fine. But FAT versions of MMLL and Warhawk both failed. I wonder if it's this new mpu_setup.s added in the latest devkitARM?
Logged
Flash
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 12299



« Reply #13 on: January 06, 2010, 09:16:12 PM »

I am possitive that MMLL did work fine on the M3 at work, though I have not tried the version using the latest libnds/devkitpro. Perhaps something has crept in there?
Logged

Coding for the love of it!
headkaze
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7735



« Reply #14 on: January 06, 2010, 11:50:31 PM »

I am possitive that MMLL did work fine on the M3 at work, though I have not tried the version using the latest libnds/devkitpro. Perhaps something has crept in there?

I tried to brach straight out of the "__libnds_mpu_setup" call in mpu_setup.s but it keeps crashing. I don't know why but possibly to do with switching between arm/thumb.

If you can get it to jump straight back we can test to see if it's this new code from the latest devkitARM. I had to copy this file from libnds because it doesn't work without it. They are calling it from the pre-compiled arm9 crt.s so it has to be there, but I thought having a "bx lr" straight back would allow us to skip it, but it doesn't work.
Logged
Flash
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 12299



« Reply #15 on: January 07, 2010, 12:02:16 AM »

I will hopefully have some time to have a look tomorrow.

A bx lr should work if a return was pushed? Hopefully it is one of them simple things that can be easily overlooked... If not, I will write the game again Smiley
Logged

Coding for the love of it!
sverx
RBP Member
IBM PC
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 462


"Ow!!! What's that ?!?!"


WWW
« Reply #16 on: January 07, 2010, 10:03:28 AM »

No music but you hear the sound effects?

(I also believe a failure in loading a gzipped XM from the filesystem would stop the game... or am I wrong, guys? Does it continue without decompressing and starting the module? I've never tried on my R4 to remove the module files from the FAT version...)

Logged
headkaze
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7735



« Reply #17 on: January 07, 2010, 10:19:02 AM »

The samples are loaded directly into RAM not using the file system so that is why you can hear them. It's a problem loading from the file system. I think mpu_setup.s might have something to do with it.
Logged
sverx
RBP Member
IBM PC
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 462


"Ow!!! What's that ?!?!"


WWW
« Reply #18 on: January 07, 2010, 10:21:31 AM »

HK: so you mean that if the loading of the module fails, the game goes on anyway? I didn't know that ...

Logged
headkaze
Administrator
Blue Gene Super Computer
**********
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7735



« Reply #19 on: January 07, 2010, 11:09:20 AM »

HK: so you mean that if the loading of the module fails, the game goes on anyway? I didn't know that ...

Most games fail when FAT can't be initialised but I think it's better to have the game run without music than not run at all. Kinda sucks with Warhawk though as the level graphics don't load so you're just shooting sprites in black space! Originally we didn't have the level data loaded from FAT but we ran out of space on some cards so moved it out.
Logged
sverx
RBP Member
IBM PC
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 462


"Ow!!! What's that ?!?!"


WWW
« Reply #20 on: January 07, 2010, 11:47:31 AM »

I see. Thanks for the explanation Smiley

Logged
a128
ZX80
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


WWW
« Reply #21 on: January 07, 2010, 03:35:44 PM »

but we ran out of space on some cards so moved it out.

could you post your infos regarding what space which card allows ?
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to: